Overseas territories of Netherlands

Tropical islands Aruba and Netherlands Antilles are overseas dependencies (Dutch: landen en gebiedsdelen overzee) of the Netherlands, nominally the same as that of the provinces. However, being the part of the Kingdom, these territories are not the part of the EU. Still, their habitants having full Dutch citizenship, have the EU citizenship. The overseas territories use their own currencies. The most popular are ABC islands (for Aruba, Bonaire and Curacao).


While Aruba is a part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands, it maintains own laws, constitution, government, and currency. Is a popular tourist destination featuring renowned and luxurious hotel resorts.


This is the second largest of the Netherlands Antilles, and is known for its diving resorts and friendly locals. Bonaire has a population of about 13.000 inhabitants. The biggest settlement is Kralendijk, the island's capital.


Aseparate country within the Kingdom of the Netherlands, with its own government Curaçao is the largest and the most populous of the ABC islands. The population is about 130,000 inhabitants. Its capital Willemstad was established by the Dutch West India Company in 1643. Today a favorite stop for American cruise ships, Curaçao is an attractive holiday destination with pleasant climate and large sandy beaches.


Saba is a tiny volcanic Caribbean island of only 13 sq. kilometers (5.0 sq. mi) with only 1,991 inhabitants. A large and rocky Mount Scenic takes most of the island. Since 2010, the island is a Special Municipality of the Netherlands. Less popular than other islands Saba has rich tropical forests and beautiful diving areas. Saba is also an attractive destination for kite-boarders and windsurfers.

Sint Eustatius

A Dutch name of Saint Eustace who is the patron of this small island of only 21 square kilometers (8.1 sq mi). Since St. Eustatius was discovered by Columbus in 1493, the island changed its nationality more than twenty times. Today like Saba, St. Eustatius is a special municipality of the Netherlands with an important oil terminal located on its land.

Sint Maarten

Christopher Columbus discovered this island on November 11,1493, thus on a Saint Martin’s Day, and it bears until today the name of the saint. In the XVII C. the French and the Dutch competed for the island, but instead of fighting a battle, they divided it. Dutch part was located in the Northern part of the island (34 sq. kilometers,13 sq. mi), while a larger French part, called promptly Saint Martin was at the South. Sint Maarten was an autonomous territory within the Kingdom of the Netherlands ruled by a governor. On 10th of October 2010 became an independent nation within the Kingdom of the Netherlands. It is now a popular tourist destination, transport center and the seat of three universities.